COSMO

/COSMO

COSMO

Group leaders

  • Team leaders: Franck POMMEREAU & Nazim AGOULMINE

Research Activities

The COSMO team is characterized by a continuity between fundamental and applied research, with significant theoretical advances, methodological developments, the development of software tools, applications to real problems, and industry applications. Two threads guide the research within the team.
  1. Applications focused on the problems of society (personalized medicine, vehicle of the future, Internet of the future, …) and for which the definition of new theoretical or methodological frameworks is necessary.
  2. Works based on a theory of “core competence” that can have consequences in the first direction and find their application. This dual orientation favors the production of software and methodological tools, both to allow the application and the validation of the theory.

Keywords :

formal modeling and analysis, proof, Petri nets, process algebras, Boolean networks, automata networks, modal logic, array methods, entity-centered simulation, precision personalized medicine, communicating autonomous vehicles, systems biology, Internet of future, autonomic networks, multi-agents

Application areas

In the area of personalized and precision medicine, one of the main goals is the design of decision support software for diagnosis and therapy. In this perspective, the main challenge is the lack of methods to interpret the data of the “omic”. Focusing on the prediction of therapeutic targets based on the analysis of molecular networks, we formalized adapted theoretical frameworks in order to infer the causal targets responsible for phenotypic transition (healthy / sick). Our methodology is implemented in a set of software tools based on game theory and abduction principles applied to Boolean networks.

We also worked on the modeling, simulation and formal verification of decision modules of autonomous and communicating vehicles. We have proposed in this framework an original, scalable and parametric modeling in timed automata and also a modeling of multi-agent simulation, both of which make it possible to evaluate the aspects of security, fluidity and comfort of various decision policies. We have shown in particular, by developing a comparison between these two approaches, what impact the level of abstraction chosen on the indicators considered had. Our simulation method has been implemented in a plugin for the Gama simulator.

We are also interested in Cloud Computing and IoT (Internet of Things) technologies in the context of the Internet of the Future. The deployment of these technologies involves many problems of great complexity. We then proposed several approaches to the modeling of these problems in order to relax some constraints by a better understanding of the specificities of these technologies and their use. We also addressed the problem of holistic and autonomic control of a converging “Cloud IoT” environment meeting the time and processing resource requirements for collecting data from thousands of potentially deployed sensors in the environment. Finally, we proposed a modeling based on Petri nets autonomic mechanisms to manage the elasticity of resources in the Cloud, whose analysis was conducted using our SNAKES tool.

Other applications were studied. In particular we proposed a formal framework for modeling and analysis of distributed storage systems, for example cache hierarchies in high performance computing architectures in collaboration with the CEA. More recently, a collaboration with INRA Montpellier has started on ecosystem modeling and analysis.

Research funding

COSMO obtained funding for SYNBIOTIC project aiming on the synthesis of biological organisms using computation such as compilation (white program, 2010-2014, 242k€), and SVEDAS aiming on modeling and verification of sensitive systems to data (JCJC program, 2017-2019, 174k€).

Workshops

COSMO organized and hosted international symposiums on topics whose team is recognized for its expertise: ADVANCE, L&G (logic & games, 2017), CBSC, EUMAS.

Award

In 2014, Nazim Agoulmine was promoted IEEE Distinguished Lecturer to represent IEEE ComSoc through a set of invited lectures organized by National and Local Sections; in 2018, he received the IEEE Communication Society Outstanding Service Award (awarding his contributions for the targets of the scholarly IEEE Communication).

Software development

The ActONetLib library provides a set of functions for the inference of therapeutic targets in precision medicine.

As part of the eCo-FEV project (efficient Cooperative Infrastructure for Fully Electric Vehicles, with Renault, CEA, Hitachi Europe, Technical University of Berlin, etc.) on autonomous electric vehicles, a software program was developed within IBISC to compute safe navigation instructions from a route proposal, while guaranteeing the tolerance to network loss and execution of navigation instructions, allowing real-time local recalculation of alternative routes, and taking into account the constraints of using an electric car.

The MOST platform enables the orchestration of complex virtualized services in a federated cloud computing infrastructure, it was initially developed as part of the European Easi-Cloud project and then deployed in 3 countries (France, Brazil and Uruguay) as part of the project. AmSud SLA4CLOUD.

SNAKES is a very general library dedicated to the handling Petri nets of all kinds, it has been developed for more than 15 years and is now used in many institutions in France and abroad, for research or for teaching.

2013-2017 collaborations

On the Evry site, our work in personalized medicine fits directly into the priority scientific areas of the UEVE and Genopole and we collaborate with the I-STEM laboratory specialized in stem cells and mono-genic diseases. In addition, we also collaborate with the Curie Institute, and with the BIOINFO team of LRI and INRIA Paris-Saclay for the theoretical aspects. Finally, the members involved in this theme are part of the Paris-Saclay UPsay-CompBio network / project intended to federate interdisciplinary actions around the study of cancer and these therapies, and at the national level of GT BIOSS.

At Paris-Saclay, we also collaborate with IRT / SystemX on the work on vehicles, and with the LSV (ENS Paris-Saclay) concerning ATL* through the ALESSO research project carried out by COSMO. At the Ile-de-France level (administrative district in France), a large part of the team is involved in the MeFoSyLoMa working group, which brings together researchers in formal methods. MeFoSyLoMa organizes a monthly seminar as well as common actions such as the organization of symposiums, schools, or the publication of books.

The team also maintains numerous international collaborations with renowned researchers: Valentin Goranko, Stockholm; Maciej Koutny, Newcastle; Raymond Devillers, Brussels; Marta Cialdea Mayer, Rome; Bozena Wozna-Szczesniak, Czestochowa; Benjamin Moszkowski, Newcastle; Alessio Lumuscio, London; Wiebe van der Hoek, Liverpool; Aniello Murano, Naples.

Finally, we are working with industry such as Thales, Renault, and Hitachi Europe.

Academic graduations

Team members are involved in two courses of the IT master of the Paris-Saclay University:
  • networked systems architecture of the IT master, directed by Franck Pommereau;
  • software engineering for the web of the MIAGE master, directed by Bachir Djafri.

We teach in these courses, as well as in the course design and intelligence software and systems of the IT master, in the course genomics informatics and mathematics for health and environment of the master of bioinformatics, and in the course systems and synthetic Biology of the master of integrative biology and physiology.

In addition, Hanna Klaudel is Assistant Director of the STIC Graduate School at Paris-Saclay University.

More information

Download the team resume →

2018-10-09T16:24:55+00:00

COSMO

/COSMO

COSMO

Direction

  • Responsable : Franck POMMEREAU (PR)
  • Co-responsable : Nazim AGOULMINE (PR)

Activités

L’équipe COSMO étudie les propriétés fondamentales des systèmes informatiques et biologiques et, plus généralement, le comportement de systèmes dynamiques réactifs, décentralisés et ouverts. Dans ce cadre, elle s’intéresse à la spécification et à l’analyse de ces systèmes, ainsi qu’à leur conception. L’équipe se caractérise par une continuité entre les recherches fondamentales et appliquées, avec des avancées théoriques significatives, des développements méthodologiques, la production d’outils logiciels, des applications à des problèmes réels, jusqu’à la création de liens industriels. Deux orientations structurent la recherche au sein de l’équipe.

  1. Une problématique applicative axée sur les problèmes de société (médecine personnalisée, véhicule du futur, Internet du futur, …) et pour lesquels la définition de nouveaux cadres théoriques ou méthodologiques est nécessaire.

  2. Des travaux ancrés sur une théorie « cœur de compétence » qui peuvent avoir des retombées dans la première orientation et y trouver leur application. Cette double orientation favorise la production d’outils logiciels et méthodologiques, à la fois pour permettre l’application et comme validation de la théorie.

Mots-clés :

modélisation et analyse formelles, preuve, réseaux de Petri, algèbres de processus, réseaux booléens, réseaux d’automates, logiques modales, méthodes de tableaux, simulation entité-centrée, médecine personnalisée de précision, véhicules autonomes communicants, biologie des systèmes, Internet du futur, réseaux autonomiques, multi-agents

Domaines d’application

Dans le domaine de la médecine personnalisée et de précision, un des objectifs majeurs est la conception de logiciels d’assistance à la prise de décision pour le diagnostic et la thérapie. Dans cette perspective, la question centrale est la carence de méthodes pour interpréter les données de l’« omique ». En nous focalisant sur la prédiction de cibles thérapeutiques fondées sur l’analyse de réseaux moléculaires, nous avons formalisé les cadres théoriques adaptés afin d’inférer les cibles causales responsables de transition phénotypiques (sain/malade). Notre méthodologie a été implantée dans un ensemble d’outils logiciels s’appuyant sur la théorie des jeux et sur des principes d’abduction appliqués aux réseaux booléens.

Nous avons par ailleurs travaillé sur la modélisation, la simulation et la vérification formelles de modules de décision de véhicules autonomes et communicants. Nous avons proposé dans ce cadre une modélisations originale, scalable et paramétrique en automates temporisés et également un modèle de simulation multi-agent, les deux permettant d’évaluer les aspects de sécurité, de fluidité et de confort de diverses politiques de décision. Nous avons montré en particulier, en développant une comparaison entre ces deux approches, quel impact avait le niveau d’abstraction choisi sur les indicateurs considérés. Notre méthode de simulation a été implantée dans un plugin pour le simulateur Gama.

Nous nous sommes aussi intéressés aux technologies Cloud Computing et IoT (Internet of Things) dans le cadre de l’Internet du Futur. Le déploiement de ces technologies introduit de nombreux problèmes ayant une grande complexité. Nous avons alors proposé plusieurs approches pour modéliser ces problèmes de manière à relaxer certaines contraintes par une meilleure compréhension des spécificités de ces technologies et de leur utilisation. Nous avons également adressé le problème du contrôle holistique et autonomique d’un environnement convergeant « Cloud IoT » satisfaisant les exigences de délai et de ressources de traitement pour la collection des données à partir de milliers de capteurs potentiellement déployés dans l’environnement. Enfin, nous avons proposé un modèle à base de réseaux de Petri des mécanismes autonomiques pour gérer l’élasticité des ressources dans le Cloud, dont l’analyse a été conduite grâce à notre outil SNAKES.

D’autres applications ont été abordées. En particulier nous avons proposé un cadre formel de modélisation et d’analyse de systèmes de stockages distribués, par exemple les hiérarchies de caches dans des architecture de calcul haute performance en collaboration avec le CEA. Plus récemment, une collaboration avec l’INRA Montpellier a été entamée sur la modélisation et l’analyse d’écosystèmes.

Obtention de contrats

COSMO a obtenu le financement des projets SYNBIOTIC sur la synthèse d’organismes biologiques en utilisant les techniques de l’informatique comme la compilation (programme blanc, 2010–2014, 242 k€), et SVEDAS sur la modélisation et la vérification des systèmes sensibles aux données (programme JCJC, 2017–2019, 174 k€).

Colloques

COSMO a organisé et accueilli des colloques internationaux sur des thèmes dont l’équipe est reconnue pour son expertise : ADVANCE, L&G (logic & games, 2017), CBSC, EUMAS.

Nomination

En 2014, Nazim Agoulmine a été nommé IEEE Distinguished Lecturer pour représenter l’IEEE ComSoc à travers un ensemble de conférences invité organisés par les sections nationales et locales ; en 2018, il a reçu le IEEE Communication Society Outstanding Service Award (prix d’appréciation pour ses contributions dans la poursuite des objectifs de la société savante IEEE Communication).

Développements logiciels

La bibliothèque ActONetLib fournit un ensemble de fonctionnalités pour l’inférence de cibles thérapeutiques en médecine de précision.

Dans le cadre du projet eCo-FEV (efficient Cooperative infrastructure for Fully Electric Vehicles, avec Renault, CEA, Hitachi Europe, Université Technique de Berlin, …) sur les véhicules autonomes électriques, un logiciel a été réalisé au sein d’IBISC pour calculer des consignes de navigation sûres à partir d’une proposition d’itinéraire, tout en garantissant la tolérance aux fautes de perte de réseau et d’exécution des consignes de navigation, en permettant le recalcul local en temps-réel de chemins alternatifs, et en tenant compte des contraintes liées à l’utilisation d’une voiture électrique.

La plateforme MOST permet l’orchestration de services virtualisés complexe dans une infrastructure de cloud computing fédérée, elle a été initialement développée dans le cadre du projet européen Easi-clouds puis déployée dans 3 pays (France, Brésil et Uruguay) dans le cadre du projet AmSud SLA4CLOUD.

SNAKES est une bibliothèque très générale de manipulation de réseaux de Pétri de toutes sortes, elle est développée depuis plus de 15 ans et est maintenant utilisée dans de nombreux établissements en France et à l’étranger, pour la recherche ou pour l’enseignement.

Collaborations 2013-2017

Sur le site d’Évry, nos travaux en médecine personnalisée s’insèrent directement dans les axes scientifiques prioritaire de l’UEVE et de Genopole et nous collaborons avec le laboratoire I-STEM spécialisé dans les cellules souches et les maladies mono-géniques. Au delà, nous collaborons aussi avec l’Institut Curie, et avec l’équipe BIOINFO du LRI ainsi que l’INRIA Paris-Saclay pour les aspects théoriques. Enfin, les membres impliqués dans ce thème font partie du réseau/projet UPsay-CompBio de Paris-Saclay destiné à fédérer les actions interdisciplinaires autour de l’étude du cancer et de ces thérapies, et à l’échelle nationale du GT BIOSS.

Au niveau de Paris-Saclay, nous collaborons aussi avec IRT/SystemX sur les travaux appliqués aux véhicules, et avec le LSV (ENS Paris-Saclay) concernant ATL* par le biais du projet de recherche ALESSO porté par COSMO. Au niveau francilien, une large partie de l’équipe est impliquée dans le groupe de travail MeFoSyLoMa qui regroupe des chercheurs en méthodes formelles issus de toute la région. MeFoSyLoMa organise un séminaire mensuel ainsi que des actions communes comme l’organisation de colloques, d’écoles, ou la publication d’ouvrages collectifs.

L’équipe entretient aussi de nombreuses collaborations internationales avec des chercheurs réputés : Valentin Goranko, Stockholm ; Maciej Koutny, Newcastle ; Raymond Devillers, Bruxelles ; Marta Cialdea Mayer, Rome ; Bozena Wozna-Szczesniak, Czestochowa ; Benjamin Moszkowski, Newcastle ; Alessio Lumuscio, Londres ; Wiebe van der Hoek, Liverpool ; Aniello Murano, Naples.

Enfin, au niveau industriel, nous collaborons avec Thalès, Renault, et Hitachi Europe.

Liens avec les formations académiques

Les membres de l’équipe portent deux parcours de master informatique de l’université Paris-Saclay :

  • parcours Architecture des systèmes en réseau du master informatique, responsable Franck Pommereau ;

  • parcours Ingénierie logicielle pour le Web du master MIAGE, responsable Bachir Djafri.

Nous enseignons dans ces parcours, ainsi que dans le parcours Conception et intelligence des logiciels et systèmes du master informatique, dans le parcours Genomics Informatics and Mathematics for Health and Environment du master de bio-informatique, et dans le parcours Systems and Synthetic Biology du master de biologie intégrative et physiologie.

Par ailleurs, Hanna Klaudel est directrice adjointe de l’école doctorale STIC de l’université Paris-Saclay.

2018-10-08T16:18:54+00:00